

## MBEA Business Meeting Friday, October 16, 2020, 2:00 PM Via Zoom Official Minutes - Draft

The meeting was called to order by President Mandy Wichman at 2:32 pm.

**CALL TO ORDER** 

Introduction of Officers - Stephanie Hess, President-elect

- President Mandy Wichman
- Past President Calie Wineinger
- President-elect Stephanie Hess
- Vice President Vacant
- Secretary Vacant
- Treasurer Terri Norman
- Membership Director Jeanette Barreto (not present)
- Also recognized: Eric Swenson, OPI Business Specialist and UM-Western Professor; Mark Branger, MACTE Executive Director and Region V Vice President; Lisa Parker, BPA State Director (not present); John Stiles DECA State Director; Denise Holland, UM-Western (not present); Jenny Rohrer MACTE President.

Minutes from the last meeting, 10/18/19, were unable to be located.

READING OF MINUTES

## Terri Norman. Treasurer

- 2020 Budget
  - Current Cash Balance is \$24,019.06
  - 19-20 variance is \$905
  - CD options have low interest rates, so were advised to wait.
  - \$150 for website administration is outstanding. Executive board will deal with this issue.
  - o No state gifts for WBEA this year, but will leave it as a line item.
  - No applicants for the first-time attendee stipend.
  - Motion to approve the 19-20 report and adopt the budget for 20-21 (Calie Wineinger, Jenny Rohrer)

INTRODUCTION OF OFFICERS

TREASURER'S REPORT

## Montana ACTE - Mandy Wichman, President

OTHER REPORTS

- Membership drive will continue to next year.
- 2-year contract for CVENT portal, so next year will be blended.
- CVENT paid for by Two Bear Capital, Montana Chamber of Commerce, and YE Montana.
- Carla Leligdowicz will send OPI sheets via email.
- Membership Report Mandy Wichman, President
  - Haven't received membership update.
  - o 37 people registered: 32 members, 2 students, 2 nonmembers.
- MBEA Website Scott Anderson, Webmaster, not present
- OPI Business and Marketing Eric Swenson, Business Education Specialist
  - Wednesday State CTE allocations were posted.
    - Opi.mt.gov click educators, then CTE, scroll down to funding, then click State Funding, then 2021 final allocations.
    - Numbers for enrollment, CTSO are not listed because it's federal law not to post participation numbers under 10.
  - New standards were released from NBEA. We can access them at the website if we're members, but Eric has posted in files on website as well.
  - If anyone doesn't have a business resources binder from Eric, let him know so he can mail them. eswenson@mt.gov.
  - Perkins is in the works;
  - Watch the Wednesday Reader.
  - WBEA is virtual in February.
- BPA Lisa Parker, BPA State Director
- DECA John Stiles, DECA State Director
- Post-Secondary Denise Holland, University of Montana-Western not present
- WBEA/NBEA/ACTE Mandy Wichman, President
  - WBEA Virtual Hosted by Washington, February 12-14, 2021
  - NBEA The Marriott New Orleans, LA, March 30-April 2. 2021
  - o ACTE Vision Virtual November 30-December 4, 2020
  - o Region V ACTE Virtual October 29, 2020

First-Time Attendee Scholarship - no applicants

**OLD BUSINESS** 

Election of Officers - Mandy Wichman, President

**NEW BUSINESS** 

- Calie Wineinger is willing to stay on as Past President for another year as Casey Donahue is unable to fill that position. She will also take over as Membership Director.
  - Motion to appoint Calie Wineinger as Past President and Membership Director for 2021 (Stephanie Hess, Jenny Rohrer)
- Positions open: Secretary, Vice President
  - Secretary Dave Powell nominated
  - Motion to elect Dave Powell as secretary for 2021. (Stephanie Hess, Terri Norman)

| <ul> <li>Steve Maloney, Butte High School</li> <li>Sharol O'Brien, Shelby High School</li> <li>Nicki Roe, Missoula Big Sky High School</li> </ul>                                                                                                                                                               | RECOGNITION OF RETIREES |
|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-------------------------|
| Awards - Calie Wineinger, Past President  Outstanding New Teacher of the Year  Mandy Wichman, Hobson winner  Outstanding Teacher of the Year  Jill Page and Brad Mehr nominated  Jill Page, Glasgow winner  Distinguished Service Award  No nominees  Lifetime Achievement Award (ACTE)  Janie McFarland winner | AWARDS                  |
| Announcements - Mandy Wichman, President  • Outgoing Officer and Board Recognition                                                                                                                                                                                                                              | ANNOUNCEMENTS           |

No further business before the members. Meeting adjourned at 3:25 pm.

2021 MACTE Fall Institute: Bozeman GranTree, October 21-22, 2021

Renewal Units in email

**ADJOURNMENT**